field trip

I’ve been wanting to drive up to Asheville to visit Waechter’s Silk Shop for ages and I finally made it today. I’m really glad that I went. They have a beautiful selection of fabrics and patterns. Best of all, they have many garments on display using the patterns that they stock and made from wonderful fabric combinations. It is truly inspiring. They also have a comprehensive web site. If you are interested, you can see for yourself here.

I bought these two beautiful rayon batiks.

P1010028

Hopefully, I will do a wonderful job making the drape neckline blouse in the picture.

I am also busy quilting  my practice piece. here is a photo of how it’s going. At the last minute I decided to just meander the entire quilt. I chose a very neutral thread color so that my mistakes wouldn’t show. I wish now that I wasn’t so conservative. I would be a lot prettier with a nice variegated thread.

P1010030

Leave a Reply

