Thoughts about quilting, teaching, and learning?

Pulling out this quilt sparked lots of thoughts. I made this top when Dave was a baby so that would have been 1986. This was before I had cutting mats and Omnigrid rulers. My husband cut cheaters out of wood that produced the correct width strip, which I marked on the fabric with pencil and cut with scissors. I never got around to quilting it until the year I lived in Raleigh, which was 2007/08. This was my fist attempt at free-motion, drop the dogs, quilting.

On one level, I am so disappointed with my quilting that it makes me sad and on another level, I just love the big and little blue squares so much they make me happy. So, I am of two minds…

I know several women that have told me that they would like to learn to quilt. I always think, what is there to learn? You just follow the steps. But of course, there are a lot of steps and many choices to make. It’s easy to forget what it’s like to begin your first project.

I would encourage anyone with an interest in quilting not to be intimidated. There is so much satisfaction in undertaking a big project and having the tangible and beautiful results of your own creativity and sustained effort as your reward.

I would love to teach a class for brand new beginners and help them tackle a project that they can finish and build skills that will carry them into the next project! For all of you who are teachers, how did you get started? What advice would you give to me to begin teaching?

Thanks for the visit. Any comments are appreciated!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Aura
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 20:01:13

    I applaud and admire your dedication to quilt making. I think If I had more free time, I might tackle quilting…but you certainly would be a great teacher because you love everything that is involved in creating a quilt. Catie, you really do have a gift and special talent so I hope you will be able to gather some women and share what you know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

